The Board of Directors

Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd is governed by a locally established Board of Directors. This comprises six directors of whom two are locally-based non-executives, two are non-executive directors from the parent bank and two executive directors being the Chief Executive Officer and the Chief Operating Officer. The Board of Directors benefits from a mix of relevant skills. All directors include the control and governance of the bank within their remit of responsibilities and each director also has specific responsibilities, based on their experience.

Mr. David Swanney Independent Non-Executive Directors

Mr David Swanney has been appointed as a second independent non-executive director. He is a chartered accountant and a retired banking regulator, with practical industry experience as Director, Group Compliance and Group MLRO for a major UK banking group. He is the author of the Joint Money Laundering Steering Group's anti-money laundering guidance for the UK financial sector. After moving from the accounting profession, David had a twenty year career at the Bank of England, and latterly the FSA, mostly in banking supervision. His responsibilities included an appointment as Head of Division directly supervising a range of UK banks; having responsibility for the Bank's Enforcement activity against illegal deposit taking; acting as secretary to the Board of Banking Supervision; and running the UK Deposit Protection Board at the time of the BCCI collapse.

In late 2000, David joined the Royal Bank of Scotland Group as Director, Group Compliance. Following a reorganisation of this function in late 2002 he took early retirement, since when he has worked with the British Bankers' Association on money laundering prevention issues. He is also a non-executive director, and audit committee chairman, of the UK subsidiaries of a number of overseas banks. Since January 2006 he has also been a public member of the International Audit and Assurance Standards Board.

Mr. Roy England Independent Non-Executive Directors

Mr Roy England serves as an independent non-executive director, a role he holds with another City based financial institution which he has fulfilled since 1 January 2002. Prior to that, Mr England served as Advisor to the General Manager of the institution, which like Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd existed as a London Branch before the subsidiarisation. He is an associate of The Institute of Bankers.

Mr. Senarath Bandara Independent Non-Executive Directors

Mr Bandara is the General Manager/ Chief Executive Officer of the parent bank, Bank of Ceylon Sri Lanka since February 2018. Prior to this appointment he held the position of Deputy General Manager, in charge of Sales & Channel Management of Bank of Ceylon.

He is a career banker with over 28 years of diverse experience locally and abroad mainly in the fields of information systems, investments, treasury management, international banking, corporate banking, development banking, Islamic banking, electronic banking, credit card operations, and branch operations.

He is a nominee director of BOC to several companies and an active member of the Association of Professional Bankers (APB) of Sri Lanka and currently hold the position of Senior Vice President. He also served as the Chief Executive Officer of Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd from 2011-2012.

Mr. Bandara obtained his first degree from the University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka in the field of Physical Science and obtained an MBA from Postgraduate Institute of Management(PIM), University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Sri Lanka with a Merit Pass. He is also a Fellow member of Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka (FIB) and obtained a Postgraduate Executive Diploma in Bank Management from the same institute with the highest ranking performance award in 1998.

Mr. Nilantha Meneripitiyage Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director

Mr Nilantha Meneripitiyage was appointed as Chief Executive Officer/Executive Director in January 2019. Prior to this appoint he held the position of Assistant General Manager (Risk Management) at Bank of Ceylon.

Mr Meneripitiyage joined BOC in August 1992 as a Junior Executive Officer and subsequently he was appointed to the Executive Management in January 2017.

He is a career banker who has gained diverse experience locally and abroad mainly in the fields of information systems, treasury management, international banking, corporate banking, project management, payment card operations and overseas branch operations.

He had been a resource person at the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka in the field of trade finance, Export Development Board in Sri Lanka and Post-graduate unit of University of Moratuwa. He was also an alternate director of Ceybank Asset Management ltd. He is an active member of the Association of Professional Bankers (APB) of Sri Lanka and Associates of Institute of Bankers in Sri Lanka.

Mr. Meneripitiyage obtained his first degree from the University of Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka in the field of Management Science and obtained an MSc in Management from the same University. He has also completed a diploma in Banking and Finance and Australian Computer Society examination.

Mr. Supramaniam Sabesan Chief Operating Officer/ Director

Mr Supramaniam Sabesan has been appointed as the Chief Operating Officer of Bank of Ceylon (UK) Ltd with effect from 16th March 2017. He counts over 13 years of experience and exposure in a wide spectrum of banking and financial services including treasury management, investment banking, back office operations, budget and strategic planning and financial accounting.

He holds an MBA in Finance from University of Colombo and Bachelor of Commerce - B.Com (Hons) degree from the same university. He is also an associate member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (ACMA) and the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka (AIB).